Oh, good golly gosh gee whiz

See this here icon? It’s a 16th century icon showing the Archangel Michael. And it’s exciting. Why is it exciting? you ask. It’s exciting because a few weeks ago I scanned an emboidery pattern from a book of Russian embroidery. It was … drum roll please … this exact picture, 16th century Archangel Michael. So I may not have my icon done yet but I’m darned close on its shroud. I know what colors to use. That’s half the battle for me, un-artistically inclined as I am.

Please forgive my enthusiasm and permit me a moment of pure joy on an otherwise dreadful day.

Russian Icon. The Archangel Michael. 16th century. 35 x 39 cm. Art History Museum, Rybinsk, Russia.

Leave a Reply

